cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is or can TP-Link AC1750 WiFi Extender (RE450) - be made compatible with Rogers XB7-CM

buddymcl
I plan to stick around

Last week I abandoned my owned CGN3 modem and got the Rogers XB7-CM on a new plan.  It works well but regretfully appears not to be compatible with my TP-Link AC1750 extender purchased new Apr 18 / 2023.

The new modem works well for most of my house but keeps dropping out on my balcony.  We bought the extender to solve this problem and it did work well.

Can any of you knowledgeable gentlemen recommend a solution for this problem?  I am a technical novice and do not know how to solve it. 

And thank you again for the help last week - this is relatively minor compared to last weeks problem.

TP-Link AC1750 WiFi Extender (RE450) - Up to 1750Mbps, Dual Band WiFi Repeater, Internet Booster, Extend WiFi Range further

***Added labels & Removed IP addresses for privacy***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Is or can TP-Link AC1750 WiFi Extender (RE450) - be made compatible with Rogers XB7-CM

@buddymcl here's the link to the extender support page:

https://www.tp-link.com/ca/support/download/re450/

Here's the link to the U.S. version of the user guide:

https://static.tp-link.com/2020/202008/20200813/1910012825_RE450&RE550_UG_REV4.0.0.pdf

Have a look at pages 7 to 14.  The easiest way to set up the extender is to use the WPS method (section 2.2.3).  The next choice would be logging into the extender with a wifi connected pc or laptop (section 2.2.2).

To use the WPS method, park the extender close to the modem on a nearby wall socket.  When its finished starting up, depress the WPS button at the back of the modem momentarily.  This button has two functions, according to an xfinity post:  

1)- a quick push/release triggers the WPS function

2)-a push and hold (about 30 seconds) triggers the "reset" function