cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't create App password

eltbrown
I've been here awhile

When I tried to generate an App password to connect to Outlook.

I receive the following message:

Something went wrong on our end. Please try again later.

I tried calling Rogers Support I was told I would have to wait between 20 to 30 mins...

Not happy!

**Labels Added**

438 REPLIES 438

Re: Can't create App password

Smeegle
I'm here a lot

Well, looks like my problematic IMAP account in my outlook wasn’t working after all.

When I got into Outlook today, I was once again prompted for my Rogers login. It seems when I perform an Outlook repair on the IMAP mailbox, I prompted for my Rogers account login, but I close the window knowing it will otherwise mess up my IMAP mailbox.  Sometimes I’m prompted multiple times, so I just keep closing the Rogers login prompt window if it pops up.  Eventually I’m no longer prompted with my Rogers login,  I’m prompted for the password for my IMAP mail account, and I also check the box for “Kep me logged in”.   It works fine so long as my outlook session is open. 

If I close out Outlook and then go back in, I’m back to square one.  So, despite the check in “Keep me logged in” box, it appears to lose the password.  Then I decided to manually add the credential into Windows Credential Manager, under the Windows Credential tab.

I inserted the inbound IMAP network address in the Internet or Network Address field, the IMAP email  address in the Username field, and the password associated with the account in the password field, then clicked ok.

Now it seems to be working all the time whether I close/reopen Outlook, restart my computer.  It hasn’t failed yet.  Keeping my fingers crossed.

Agreed! Same for me, but I have my own domain. My wife uses a rogers.com email and is still able to use her outlook normally. What is going on? 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

@Jonogrant wrote: