cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent Ignite XB6 modem update activates internal WiFi Radios. Any way to stop this?

Frank_YYZ
I'm here a lot

Hi There,

I have been using my XB6 in BRIDGE mode for over 2 1/2 years.  I have my own router and eight of my own WiFi access points to cover my house and yard.

Up until the last few months, the internal 2.6 and 5 GHz radios of the Ignite modem were deactivated and everything worked perfectly using my own WiFi network.  However, recently the radios have started bwapping out a huge signal.  It's intermittent, but when it starts up, it causes issues with other devices dropping out.  (Including an Ignite TV receiver) dropping out.  When you look at the signal characteristics, as measured by an Android phone WiFi scanner App you can see why these signals cause havoc.  (Both WiFiman and WiFi Analyzer detect the Rogers Ignite signal.)

SSID:    {HIDDEN}  Three of them!

2.6 GHZ:  Channel 11 with 40 MHz bandwidth.  Local strength: -29 dBm.

5 GHz:      Channel 149 with 80 MHz bandwidth.  Local Signal Strength: -30 dBm

Since it's worked for over two years, it seems evident that this new "feature" was introduced during a recent F/W upgrade.

I called Rogers tech support and the couldn't stop the radios. He contacted his superior who said that "disabling the radios is not a feature".

Huh?  On something that was doable years ago?

Anybody have any suggestions?

***Added Labels***

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Recent Ignite XB6 modem update activates internal WiFi Radios. Any way to stop this?

Biollw
I'm a senior advisor

Simple answer is no, you can not disable the hideen wifi on the modem even if in bridge mode.

Tin foil hat?

Re: Recent Ignite XB6 modem update activates internal WiFi Radios. Any way to stop this?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

-G-
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

@Frank_YYZ wrote:

Hi There,